Assignment 01 — NT609 Scientific Journal Writing

ipwardhani
2 min readFeb 7, 2024

--

Hello, my name is Issana Pramordha Wardhani, better known as Sasa. I am a master's student in Computational Science who intends to take the NT609-Scientific Journal Writing course this semester. My background is a Chemistry Degree from Universitas Jenderal Achmad Yani, and I am interested in expanding my chemistry knowledge in computing, thus I choose to pursue a Masters in Computational Science at ITB in 2023.

I’m interested in taking this course because I want to improve my writing skills and confidence, particularly in scientific journal writing. Writing scientific papers necessitates specialized knowledge and procedures for efficiently and clearly expressing research findings, increasing the likelihood of passing peer review and acceptance for publication in a journal. Aside from that, I am a member of the editorial staff for the scientific journal where I work (Jurnal Kartika Kimia). I hope that by attending this lecture, I can gain a better understanding of how to write scientific papers, which will help me with my work.

The thesis topic is now set to focus on materials, specifically the interaction of Fullerene-like nanocages for pollutant gas sensor applications using Density Functional Theory (DFT). However, it does not rule out the potential of studying other topics, such as molecular docking and molecular dynamics, to identify drug candidates as part of my undergraduate research in organic chemistry. I hope this course will help me produce greater research output, as publishing scientific articles is required for a master’s degree. Even though the prerequisites for graduation are sufficient to publish an article, I hope that my article will be published at least in the Scopus Q2 journal, adding to my portfolio.

If I have the opportunity to submit to a journal, I wish to publish in Nature or American Chemistry Society (ACS). Nature is one of the periodicals that has published scientific articles since 1869. According to various colleagues, this magazine is very selective and tough to “accept” publications, which has motivated me to produce better studies to be published in this journal.

--

--

ipwardhani
0 Followers

A monochromatic soul with a colorful heart